Installing/Updating

To install or update NetRisk, administrator rights are required on the destination computer. If the computer does not have administrator rights, contact your IT department or system administrator. Once installed, administrator rights are not needed to run the software.



1. Click the link from the activation email


2. Click Download

3. Click Run

4. If Windows Defender opens, click More Info

5. Click Run Anyway

6. If any antivirus opens, choose to allow

7. Click OK

8. Follow the steps in the installation wizard
9. Launch NetRisk

Automated Software Updates

NetRisk comes equipped with the ability to notify users of software updates and give them the option to install them. By default, NetRisk is configured to check for updates through a PMA-hosted server; however, you can instead choose to host your own server or “disable” the feature.

To disable update notifications, please submit a request through our online support desk.

PMA-hosted Option

The default option is ideal for individual licensees and for organizations that do not need to control when and how updates are administered to their end users. For example, if end-users can elect to update as soon as a new version is available (at their own discretion), organizations should not feel the need to establish their own update server.

Self-hosted Option

Self-hosting is ideal for organizations that prefer to control exactly when and how updates are administered to their end-users. For example, if an organization prefers to evaluate new versions prior to distributing them to their end users and/or wants to ensure that end-users can’t ignore updates.

The Update Process

The default application shortcut is configured to launch the NetRisk updater executable, which checks the remote server for newer versions of NetRisk. If one is available, the user is given the option to update or ignore. If accepted, NetRisk is updated as follows:

  1. Recovery files are saved
  2. The release notes are downloaded and opened
  3. The new installation files are downloaded
  4. The new installation files overwrite the old installation’s files

Once the process is complete, a final message opens that confirms the successful update and prompts the user to click OK to open the application.

If the update fails for any reason (files could not be written or the internet connection is interrupted), a message opens that alerts the user that the update has failed and prompts them to run the update again with administrator privileges. When self-hosting, the server administrator can then decide when to put the updated files onto their self-hosted server for final distribution to their end-users.

Software Update Eligibility

If a customer has not paid their annual software maintenance fees, they will not be eligible to receive software updates. In that case, a message will open that prompts them to contact NetRisk support, and they will be reinvoiced if necessary.

To improve its products and services, PMA may collect data from end-users through the software update system, including but not limited to: license keys, email addresses, update statistics, and usage statistics. By using this system, end-users agree to these terms.

On this page